Albas sailboats

        The navigators of tomorrow

The architect's point of view

Fifty years of development

The materials

Naval architecture took advantage of the evolution of materials to find daring that did not allow construction in wood, couple on stringer. Thus with steel, aluminum, plywood, fiberglass, carbon, resins ... the architects were able to explore new ideas.

Stronger and lighter, these materials have given shape possibilities that designers have explored.

Hull

At the same time as the hulls are getting lighter, they are increasing in power by the widening of the master beam. The keel separates from the rudder, increasing the draft and reducing the wetted surface. A few years later, this master bau continued to the transom.

Pleasure boats took the opportunity to accommodate an additional aft cabin!

Then it is a considerable enlargement of the cockpit.

The keels were refined by carrying a ballast torpedo at their end, greatly increasing the ability to carry canvas.

The bows are rounded to find more lift on monohulls, or adopt wave-piercing shapes on multi-hulls.

Rigging

This increase in return force is used to lengthen the mast and amplify the power of the split effect between the jib and the mainsail. The headsails have multiplied genoa, solent, genacker, code 0, asymmetric and symmetrical spinnaker.

To control this power, it was necessary to innovate to keep hulls which do not like the list, due to asymmetry, flat.

New appendages

Windward angulation of the keels, double rudders, since the central rudder protruded too much from the water. Then came the foils, magical objects that relegate Newton's gravity and the water displaced by Archimedes to oblivion!

Progress must benefit children

How to transpose all this progress on a toy for children? It

A few years ago, I designed models keeping a look of a XIX or 12 MJI schooner with a light displacement and modernized water lines. So I had experience of transposing the progress of architecture on scale models.

First objective to find the lightest wood, Paulownia comes naturally to mind, it is nicely grained and in addition, it is hydrophobic. Paulownia holds the world record for absorbing carbon, 10 times more than any other wood species.

With this light float, you should take the opportunity to also reduce the ballast, farewell to the kilos of the ancestors of the last century.

The draft is greatly increased, refined and streamlined. Of course the ballast is lead with a torpedo shape.

These thin, deep keels make boats very scalable and sensitive to their course. The balance of the thrust centers, the center of drift and the center of gravity is particularly sharp. The attention to the sway of the water lines at the heel, the volume on the front, the retreat of the centers of velic thrust and drift towards the center of gravity and more powerful rudders participate in the search for this balance at all gaits Fundamental balances that cannot be adjusted by a coxswain.

The Beech mast is mechanically sufficient, above all, it is surmounted by a mast head necessary for the safety of the captain. The shrouds make it possible to take up the forces due to handling by the mast head. The quest holds everything together effectively.

The sails must maintain perfect dimensional stability and remain insensitive to water. the spinnaker fabric responds of course to the needs, with the possibility of choosing the color!

A gusset sewn on the leading edge of the sail gives the possibility of keeping a laminar flow, passing the elasticated forestay or the mast. This gusset, by angulating under the action of the wind, promotes the formation of a hollow in the front of the sail.

The jib naturally takes a suitable shape. The mainsail requires more care to acquire the famous form of airplane wing. It only takes one to two millimeters, gradually taken from the front third until the fall. The free border also participates in shaping.

The reinforcements, in several thicknesses, are placed gradually on the clew so as not to create a hard point.

These shells are sanded for a long time to complete their fluidity. Statically, the bow brion is out of the water and the transom lifted off the water. The brion out of water makes it possible to give an additional volume in dynamics and especially to limit the height of the bow wave, therefore also the following trough. Decreasing this movement of water lift, it is certainly limiting the visual effect of the impression of speed, it is also an additional means of having useful horses.

The light displacement is confirmed by the freeboard which is significant and thus confers an important reserve of stability on the list.

All these details are found on all models. Apart from their size there is no difference in performance from one model to another. Between a Collection, a blackjack or a Custom the differences are only aesthetic.

This long and patient research applied to the toy, I carried it out on several prototypes and pre-series, each one was tested different rigs, fabrics and cut of sails. Differences between keels and rudders.

Several choices of wood, different tests after, paints, resins, stains to finish with a simple oil ...

 

The ALBAS 35 remains of a moderate width to require only a single block of wood. This limits the asymmetry of the hull and it can be satisfied with a single particularly deep rudder. Its excellent weight vs power ratio, its very fluid hull and its large transom make basin sailboats a big leap forward.

The ALBAS 42 was the first made in Paulownia. He inaugurated the concept of the large cockpit which limits the weight of the wood, allows a high freeboard, aesthetic and synonymous with stiffness to the canvas.

The ALBAS 65 benefits from a more generous master beam, increasing its form stability and limiting the need for too heavy a ballast. With the list, the wide hulls quickly show an asymmetry. To limit this , you have to put volume on the front, smooth the curves and adapt their rudders. This is essential insofar as a single central rudder would emerge too much from the water to perform its function. With a double rudder, it is possible to specialize one for the starboard tack hull, the other for the port tack hull. This is the explanation for the lateral angulation of the rudders, in doing so one of the two rudders comes out of the water limiting the wetted surface, the other working at best. In the longitudinal axis, the rudders are mounted straight for their heeled hull, therefore angled a few degrees towards the bow. To complete these imperceptible corrections, the rudders are asymmetrical like an airplane wing which only develops lift on the top of the wing. The increase in speed is related to the increase in list, so the increase in speed will result in a start to luff. By developing lift on the internal face of the rudder, this lift makes it possible to widen the range of wind without luffing. The increase in this lift is intended to limit the tendency to luff these hulls at the list. Although straight for its hull, the rudder, with the speed helps to oppose the start to luff.

The ALBAS 67, like all ALBAS, is a light displacement thanks to a well hollowed hull. A moderate 400g ballast but sufficient because it is placed very low. A beautiful master set back very fine water inlets and a load-bearing rear. A contained wet surface, no return to the port side, a deep keel.

The ALBAS 85 takes the advantages of the gaff rig associated with a long keel. A boat that is easy to balance because it is stretched lengthwise and therefore with a center of push not too high, it remains stiff on the canvas. Its numerous sails allow its sail area to be adapted to the force of the wind.

Its great slenderness and five sails make it a very beautiful object with a timeless design.

It's your turn

I took you into the architect's kitchen, but to pilot his sailboat the skipper does not need to know how to build the "engine" of his boat. The skipper just has to know where the wind is coming from to adjust his sails.

Good luck to all!

Les voiliers Albas

       Les navigateurs de demain

Le point de vue de l'architecte

Cinquante ans d'évolutions

Les matériaux

L'architecture navale a profité de l'évolution des matériaux pour trouver des audaces que ne permettait pas la construction en bois, couple sur lisse. Ainsi avec l'acier, l'aluminium, le contreplaqué, la fibre de verre, carbone, résines.... les architectes ont pu explorer de nouvelles idées.

Plus résistant et plus léger, ces matériaux ont donné des possibilités de formes que les concepteurs ont explorés.

La coque

En même temps que les coques s'allègent, elle montent en puissance par l'élargissement du maître bau. La quille se sépare du safran, augmentant le tirant d'eau et diminuant la surface mouillée. Quelques années plus tard, ce maître bau se poursuivra jusqu'au tableau arrière.

Les bateaux de plaisance en ont profité pour loger une cabine arrière supplémentaire!

Puis c'est un considérable agrandissement du cockpit.

Les quilles se sont affinés en portant une torpille de lest à leur extrémité, augmentant considérablement l'aptitude à porter de la toile. 

Les étraves se sont arrondis pour trouver davantage de portance sur les monocoques, voir adopter des formes perce vague sur les multi-coques.

Gréement 

Cette augmentation de la force de rappel est utilisée pour allonger le mat et amplifier la puissance de l'effet de fente entre le foc et la grand voile. Les voiles d'avant se sont multipliés génois, solent, genacker, code 0,  spi asymétrique et symétrique.

Pour maîtriser cette puissance, il a fallu innover pour garder à plat des carènes qui n'aime pas la gîte, pour cause de dissymétrie.

De nouveaux appendices

Angulation au vent des quilles, double safrans, puisque le safran central sortait par trop de l'eau. Puis vinrent les foils, objets magiques qui relèguent aux oubliettes la gravité de Newton et l'eau déplacée par Archimède!

Le progrès doit profiter aux enfants

Comment transposer tous ces progrès sur un jouet pour enfants? Il

Il y a quelques années, J'ai dessiné des modèles en gardant un look de goélette du XIX ou de 12MJI avec un déplacement léger et des lignes d'eau modernisés. J'avais donc une expérience de la transposition des progrès de l'architecture sur des modèles réduits.

Premier objectif trouver le bois le plus léger, le Paulownia vient naturellement à l'esprit, il est joliment veiné et en plus, il est hydrophobe.

Avec ce flotteur léger, il faut en profiter pour diminuer aussi le lest adieu les kilos des ancêtres du siècle dernier.

Le tirant d'eau est largement augmenté, affiné et profilé. Bien sur le lest est en plomb avec une forme de torpille.

Ces quilles fines, profondes donnent des bateaux très évolutifs et sensibles à leur tenue de cap. L'équilibre des centres de poussées véliques, du centre de dérive et du centre de gravité est particulièrement pointue . L'attention au balancement des lignes d'eau à la gite, le volume sur l'avant, le recul des centres de poussées véliques et de dérive vers le centre de gravité et des safrans plus puissants participent à la recherche de cet équilibre à toutes les allures.Les équilibres fondamentaux ne pouvant être ajustés par un barreur.

Le mat en Hêtre est mécaniquement suffisant, surtout, il est surmonté d'une pomme de mat nécessaire à la sécurité du capitaine. Les haubans permettent de reprendre les efforts dus à la manipulation par la tête de mat. La quête cale l'ensemble efficacement. 

Les voiles doivent garder une parfaite stabilité dimensionnelle et rester insensibles à l'eau. le tissus à spinnaker répond  bien sur au besoins, avec la possibilité de choisir la couleur!

Un gousset cousu sur le bord d’attaque de la voile donne la possibilité de garder un écoulement laminaire, faire passer l'étai élastiqué ou le mat. Ce gousset en s'angulant sous l'action du vent favorise la formation d'un creux sur l'avant de la voile.

Le foc prend naturellement une forme convenable. La grande voile nécessite plus de soins pour acquérir la fameuse forme d'aile d'avion. Il suffit d'un à deux millimètre repris graduellement du tiers avant jusqu'à la chute. La bordure libre participe aussi à la mise en forme.

Les renforts, en plusieurs épaisseurs, sont placés graduellement sur le point d'écoute pour ne pas créer de point dure.

Ces coques sont longuement poncés pour achever leur fluidité. En statique, le brion d'étrave est hors d'eau et le tableau arrière est décollé de l'eau. Le brion hors d'eau permet de donner un surcroît de volume en dynamique et surtout de limiter la hauteur de la vague d'étrave, donc aussi le creux suivant. Diminuer ce mouvement d’ascenseur de l'eau, c'est certes limiter l'effet visuel de l'impression de vitesse, c'est aussi un moyen supplémentaire d'avoir des chevaux utiles.

Le déplacement léger est confirmé par le franc bord qui est significatif et confère ainsi une importante réserve de stabilité à la gite. 

Tous ces détails se retrouvent sur tous les modèles. Hormis  du à leur taille il n'y a pas de différence de performances d'un modèle à l'autre. Entre un Collection un blackjack ou un Personnalisé les différences sont seulement esthétiques.

Cette longue et patiente recherche appliqué au jouet, je l'ai réalisé sur plusieurs prototypes et préséries, chacun s'est vu essayer différents gréements, tissus et coupe de voiles. Différends modèles de quilles et de safrans.

Plusieurs choix de bois, différents essais d'après, de peintures, de résines, de lasures pour finir par une simple huile ...

 

L'ALBAS 35 reste d'une largeur modérée pour ne demander q'un seul bloc de bois. Ceci limite la dissymétrie de carène et il peut se contenter d'un seul safran particulièrement profond. Son excellent rapport poids vs puissance, sa carène très fluide et son large tableau arrière font faire aux voiliers de bassin un grand bond en avant.

L'ALBAS 42 a été le premier fabriqué en Paulownia. Il a inauguré le concept du grand cockpit qui limite le poids du bois, permet un haut franc-bord, esthétique et synonyme de raideur à la toile.

L'ALBAS 65 profite d'un maitre bau plus généreux, augmentant sa stabilité de forme et limitant la nécessité d'un lest trop lourd. Avec de la gîte les carènes larges présentent rapidement une dissymétrie. Pour limiter celle-ci, il faut mettre du volume sur l'avant, lisser les courbes et adapter leurs safrans. C'est indispensable dans la mesure ou un seul safran central sortirait trop de l'eau pour assurer sa fonction. Avec un double safran, il est possible de les spécialiser l'un pour la carène tribord amure, l'autre pour la carène bâbord amure. C'est l'explication de l'angulation latérale des safrans, ce faisant un des deux safran sort de l'eau limitant la surface mouillée, l'autre travaillant au mieux.Dans l'axe longitudinal, les safrans sont montés droit pour leur carène gîté, donc angulés de quelques degrés vers l'étrave. Pour parachever ces imperceptibles corrections, les safrans sont asymétriques comme une aile d'avion qui ne développe de portance que sur le dessus de l'aile. L'augmentation de la vitesse est liée à l'augmentation de la gîte, donc l'augmentation de la vitesse va entraîner un départ au lof. En développant une portance sur la face interne du safran, cette portance permet d'élargir la gamme de vent sans départ au lof. L'augmentation de cette portance est destinée à limiter la tendance à partir au lof de ces carènes à la gîte. Bien que droit pour sa carène, le safran, avec la vitesse participe à s'opposer aux départ au lof.

L'ALBAS 67, comme tous les ALBAS est un déplacement léger grâce à une coque bien évidée. Un lest modéré 400g mais suffisant parce que placé très bas. Un maître beau reculé des entrées d'eau très fines et un arrière porteur. Une surface mouillée contenue, pas de retour de galbord, une quille profonde. 

L'ALBAS 85 reprend les avantages du gréement aurique associé à une quille longue. Un bateau facile à équilibrer parce que allongé dans la longueur et de ce fait avec un centre de poussé pas trop haut, il reste raide à la toile. Ses nombreuses voiles permettent d'adapter sa surface de voilure à la force du vent.

Ses grands élancements et ses cinq voiles en font un très bel objet au design indémodable.

A vous de jouer

Je vous ai fait entrer dans la cuisine de l'architecte, mais pour piloter son voilier le skipper n'a pas besoin de savoir fabriquer le "moteur" de son bateau. Le skipper a juste à savoir d'ou vient le vent pour régler ses voiles. 

Bon vent à tous!

© 2023 by Skyline

Proudly created with Wix.com